Researchers’ Grand Prix is a Swedish competition that has been run annually since 2012. We challenge researchers to present their research in as captivating, inspiring and educational a way as possible – in just four minutes! Together, expert judges and the audience decide the winner. The final of the 2018 competition was held on 27 November in Stockholm.

On 27 November, the national final of the 2018 Researchers’ Grand Prix took place. Finalists from six local heats, some held as a part of European Researchers’ Night in Sweden, along with two finalists selected from a video presentation entry, competed for the title of Sweden’s best science communicator. Read the press release here.


  • Markus Fiedler, Blekinge Institute of Technology
  • Hanife Rexhepi, University of Skövde
  • Rachael Berglund, Mälardalen University
  • Lina Herbertsson, Lund University
  • Rezan  ler, Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm
  • Anders Agebjörn, University of Gothenburg
  • Gustav Ferrand-Drake Del Castillo, Chalmers University of Technology

Read more about the 2018 finalists.

The public’s votes was combined with those of the expert jury.

The final was broadcast live online and viewers were able to vote for the winner online.

Watch the 2018 Researchers’ Grand Prix below (In Swedish only).

There are many situations when it is useful for researchers to know how to describe their research to in a simple way – when applying for funding, when working with journalists, when engaging with the public, or at the dinner table with family and friends. Researchers participating in the contest are given training in rhetoric and stage performance, both in groups and individually, which is much appreciated by the participants.

The Researchers’ Grand Prix is organised jointly by the Swedish non-profit organisation VA (Public & Science), the Swedish Research Council, the Swedish Research Council for Environment, Agricultural Sciences and Spatial Planning (Formas), the Swedish Research Council for Health, Working life and Welfare (Forte) and the Sweden’s Innovation Agency, VINNOVA.

Read the latest articles about Researchers’ Grand Prix in English: