In the national final of Researchers’ Grand Prix, researchers compete to make the most understandable, captivating and inspiring presentation of their research – in just four minutes.

Maksim Nikonovich from Luleå University of Technology in the finals 2022. Foto: Erik Cronberg

The Researchers’ Grand Prix (Forskar Grand Prix) is a competition in which researchers in Sweden compete to find out who is best at presenting their research in just four minutes. Participants qualify for a place in the final via regional heats and two online heats. At the final in Stockholm, the finalists compete to determine who receives the honour of taking home the title.   The audience together with an expert jury decide on the winner. The winner receives 15,000 SEK to be used for a study trip or other type of professional development activity.


Finalists have qualified from the regional heats as well as an online heat Forskar Grand Prix Digital.

Meet the 2022 finalists.

Regional heats 2022:

Josefin Johansson.

Time & place of final

Thursday 1 December 2022 at Nalen, Stockholm and online.


Josefin Johansson, TV host, comedian, author, and actor.


  • Karin Adelsköld, comedian and TV host.
    • Evaluates performance: To what degree the contestant succeeds in engaging the public through their body language, movement, voice, etc.
  • Amina Manzoor, medical reporter at Expressen.
    • Evaluates understanding; how well contestants manage to create drama in their presentations and their use of language.
  • Matti Sällberg, Professor and Biomedical Analyst, Karolinska Institute.
    • Evaluates the research aspect; how well contestants succeed in describing the scientific process.

View the 2020/21 Researchers’ Grand Prix below (in Swedish with two presentations in English).

Can’t see the show in the player above? Watch it here instead.

The Researchers’ Grand Prix has been organised jointly by the Swedish non-profit organisation VA (Public & Science), in collaboration with the Swedish research councils FormasForteVinnova and the Swedish Research Council since 2012.